Freitag, 4. September 2009

I Believe

Hintergrund-Info von Michael Foster

Music and Lyrics: Michael Foster
Written: Negril, Jamaica December, 1978
Music Rearranged in June, 2006
Arranged, Produced, and Mixed by: Michael Foster
Engineered by: Mark Easton
Recorded in June, 2006 at ROUGH CUT STUDIO...Eastford, Conn.
Mixed at GOLDEN SUN STUDIO...North Palm Beach, Florida.


Michael Foster: Electric Guitars (Pan Left), Vocals, First Guitar Solo,
Mark Easton: Electric Guitars (Pan Right), Second Guitar Solo
Barry Easton: Drums
Michael Corsini: Bass
Guest Vocalist (Harmonies): Stephanie Krowka


Copyright 1979, 2006, by Crystal Magic Music Publishing (ASCAP)

This song..."I Believe" was one of many songs I wrote while on one of the many "retreats" to a villa I would rent every year in Negril, Jamaica...to rest and recharge...and almost always...to write new music. An amazingly beautiful and spiritual place...Negril was always very conducive to my songwriting...and this song reflects that energy very well, I think.

This is a song about the things in my life that I deem to be most important...and that also reflects my belief that we all must assume responsibility for the state of the world...as we find it. Saying what I believe is any easy thing to do. Living my life by those principles is a bit more difficult...and requires constant effort on my part. Each of us is responsible for creating our own little corner of the world...and just because the world "tells" me that it isn't my fault for the "state of things"...my own spiritual beliefs tell me...that is a lie. Just like a pebble thrown into a still pond sends ripples outwards from where it enters the water...and touches places on the opposite shore I may not even be able to see...the energy I "send" out by my actions and my beliefs...whether positive and healing... or negative and harmful... also extends outward....and touches places far from where I may actually be physically at.

A smile for a stranger...who is having a "bad" day...can cause that person's day to brighten...and in turn...he or she passes along a smile instead of a frown, to other people they may have contact with...and so it goes...on and on...long after I have moved on to another location. And so each of us plays a role...in either healing the planet...or wounding it. I guess...this is just what "I Believe"...because to me, the irrefutable logic of it...is the only "proof" I need.

This song is a bit different for us, musically...although it is not totally foreign. "The Golden Sun" is another one of my tunes that conveys a similiar message and musical vibe. Avalanche has been influenced by many different artists and their music...and although we like to "rock hard"...we do have many different musical sides to us. This is hopefully just another one that some of you can identify with. Mark Easton, as usual, is outstanding on guitar, and the echoes I added to his solo in the mixing process...felt very much "right"...for this tune.

Avalanche performed this song live for the three years the original band was together...and for the two years we performed in live concerts...but this is the first time we ( the surviving original members) have been able to get this song recorded. The idea to do that...came to me after I performed this song acoustically... "live" on SongPlanet.com DJ Mike K's Saturday Night Rocks" Radio show in Atlanta, in March, of 2005. This is the second song Avalanche has recorded as a direct result of that performance re-awakening inside of me a desire to hear these recorded in the form they were always supposed to be heard...which is electrically...and with the full band playing on them. The first song that we recorded as a result was "Are We Ever Going To Learn"...and that song as well...has a totally different impact on the listener as a hard rock tune...versus the acoustic rendition...so thanks Mike...for the invite...and the kick in the ass. This is also the first time ever that a female voice has been part of an Avalanche recording. Special thanks to Stephanie Krowka for her fine vocal contributions to this track.

I would also like to thank Brian Brooks for his valuable feedback during the mixing of this tune...and also to Mike Kohlgraf and Mark Easton for their feedback during the Mastering. Thanks...guys!

We in Avalanche all hope you all enjoy this one as much as we do!

Hugs...Mike (NAV) and AVALANCHE


>> Originalbeitrag auf SoundClick
>> zurück

zaungast

"Wherever you go, there you are"

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

neu

Wo noch? ;)
Wo noch? ;)
zwitscherbirdie - 18. Sep, 20:26
Ballermann goes everywhere
Ballermann goes everywhere
plog - 17. Sep, 18:16
"Das geht ab!"
30. August 2013 gegen 20:45 Uhr, rheinaufwärts...
zwitscherbirdie - 6. Sep, 19:31
Pachtey! :D
Ballermann goes Rhein (Ton: *klickaufsbild*) 31.08.2 013...
zwitscherbirdie - 6. Sep, 19:24
Stop 'n' Go
auf dem Rhein (Köln, Nähe Zollhafen) 31.08.2013.. .
zwitscherbirdie - 6. Sep, 12:54

Suche

 

Fliegende Steine: DiediedieniedawarEP

Ansichten

Kontakt